top of page
Search
  • lucyclaireramsay

FAS 1 Intaglio documentation continued

Here is documentation of my further experimentation with dry point from home, focusing on my other works.

Notes and reference Image for my plate. I was inspired by the current pandemic and wanted to create something similar to my lithography image. Here is the photo of my mother that I took reference to and the things that have been occupying her time in iso. With the isolation period it can be difficult to find inspiration, so I decided to find inspiration from isolation itself. The theme is very dear to me because my mother is my best friend and since moving back to Canberra her state of being holds a special place in my heart. Hence, the work has a strong sense of place both physcially and emotionally. Her state of being and place during Iso has barely changed from usual life.

A sketch of mum's iso aesthetic. Wine, sewing and sitting on the couch.


Here is the inked copper plate, ready to edit. I experimented with mark making by stepping on the plate and spinning in my driveway, and using various nuts, bolts and screws to make unique marks on the plate. I like how this turned out, as it is not something I would normally do.

For the next intaglio print I decided to follow a similar theme for my next print as the first print. Following the theme of place with the flagstaff gardens, I decided to further distort the image even more, depicting a sense of movement and chaos. I wanted to keep the same place and idea, but change the place of each component of the drawing. This distortion is inspired by the movement of analytical cubism, which I spent a long time working on during university last year.


Here is the plate inked up.


I realised I had forgot that I had made 3 plates, so I made another one, making it 4 plates in total! Ah well, that makes more choice for submission and more practice and experimentation for me. For this task I wanted to explore something more conceptual, a mental place when we dream and draw freely, I wanted the work to depict things that we are automatically drawn to when sketching and viewing art. I want to leave it up the viewer to decide their personal meaning and place associated with this print. Here are some pattern sketches. This work was inspired by some of my favourite instagram artists, including @ix__chrome https://www.instagram.com/ix__chrome/?hl=en and @mikiogillust https://www.instagram.com/mikiogillust/?hl=en as well as Henri Mattise and Martin Sharp.

More experimental doodles:

Final drawing. I'm super happy with it, I think I want to make it into a screen print in my own time when the semester is over.

The design after being drawn on the plate and then inked!



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pub

bottom of page