top of page
Search
  • lucyclaireramsay

FAS 1 Lithography progress

At the beginning of the course when it was being delivered online I wanted to focus on the place of the Melbourne general cemetery. Being from Canberra, there is not many historical cemeteries there. So when I moved to Melbourne I was excited to explore them. I have always been drawn to cemeteries as I love the errieness, art and history associated with them. The place of the work was very relevant to my personal context of exploring Melbourne as my new home.

Barbed wire sketches from the cemetery.

Notes on the process of lithograph. Was very confusing but very magical!

Personal research on lithography artists.


However... in person classes came to a halt and I had to move back to Canberra, that became my current place and context. We had to improvise with a method called 'Molukito' and do our lithographs on wood. I wanted to make art about my experience in Isolation as that became my normal and it was difficult for me to find inspiration outside of my own home in Canberra. This is a reference image for my self portrait - drawing on my litho plywood.


A rough sketch. I'm obsessed with checkerboard and I have used it in so many of my past artworks.

Wine because I drank so much of it in my sharehouse back in Melbourne during isolation. Laptop because I'm always on it for school. And sriracha mayo because I can't stop putting it on my hash browns and I can finally eat spicy food with confidence. My house mates introduced me to it in Melbourne and now I have it everyday in Canberra.

I have also been playing a lot of guitar during iso. And drinking Resch's - a very NSW beer that isn't available in Melbourne (worst thing about making the move). I've been drinking wine and I also have discovered that Pantathenic Acid B5 has completely cleared my acne. I have also been cooking a lot with eggplants.


The board has been sanded, drawn onto and etched! Will be interesting to see the results. I quite like it so far, its playful, comedic, fun, and strongly represents the theme of place. The head is a little bit too small though whoopsie.


Finalised prints. It was a struggle getting them to print properly which is pretty disappointing. Would have probably worked a lot better if we were using the limestone but I think the fact that it turned out like this further represents isolation and the notion of printmaking at home as a result of the current situation. It looks very interesting one can only barely make out what the work is. I think this effect would have looked really cool if I had used the graveyard idea I was originally going to do on my limestone back at school.

This is what my plate looked like after printing.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pub

bottom of page