top of page
Search
  • lucyclaireramsay

FAS 1 Unique State Relief Prints

I was really excited to begin experimenting with Unique State (US) prints. This is because colour is very important in my printmaking processes and I am very drawn to colour. It is always a great way to easily incorporate colour to an artwork, without adding multiple print layers. Colour is also very important to the viewers emotional response, we can convey different emotive responses by merely incorporating certain colours to our artworks. It feels like advanced colouring in ahah. Melbourne artist Jack Irvine was a particular source of inpsiration for my works as his works are graphic, fun, playful and generally incorporate a strong, black line around his subjects. Website is https://www.jackirvine.website/. This first print is coloured in using watercolour paint.

I used watercolour paint for this one also, but experimented more with using different colours in different areas and applying the paint more vibrant.

I used texta for the next 2, which meant there was no bleeding in the thin paper, and the colours turned out very vibrant.

This one is my personal favourite. I got the idea from looking at an old tie dye t shirt.

I then experimented with Chine Colle technqiue to create U.S prints. I stuck bits of tissue paper on to parts of the rice paper. To stick it on I made my own rice glue by blending leftover rice and water to make a milky texture. Then, I put it on the stove to thicken it up. The paste worked well to stick the bits of paper together but it did make the paper crinkle up, making the printing over the top process difficult.


Just as predicted, the prints turned out messy as the paper wasn't flat, it did however, produce an interesting result. It would be worth further perfecting the process in the future.

However, the one chine colle print that I did have success with is this one. Because I only put one gold bit of tissue paper near the sun, there was less space for the paper to crinkle up. It also accentuates the focal point of the sun. I am very happy with this print.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pub

bottom of page